Complete Organ Symphonies, Series 1, by Charles-Marie Widor

Write a review
| Ask a question
Type: Organ Music

Level: Advanced.

The greatest French organist of his day, Widor (1844–1937) composed 10 organ "symphonies" — actually solo compositions usually consisting of 6 or 7 short movements, that treat the organ as a kind of self-contained orchestra.

Series I includes Symphonies Nos. 1–4, Op. 13 and Symphonie No. 5, Op. 42. Frequently performed today.

Glossary of French terms.